Uk to Venice

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
robing

Uk to Venice

Post by robing »

I am going on an organised cycle trip in northern Italy at end of September, and was wondering how to get there
When I thought I could cycle there all the way from home! :D Anyone recommend a good route probably starting from calais
Or Dunkirk via belgium, Luxembourg. I realise I will have to traverse the Alps either Switzerland or Austria
MarcusT

Re: Uk to Venice

Post by MarcusT »

Sorry, I have no experience for that route, but I just need to ask: After an undertaking of UK to Venice, don't you think an organized trip might be a little .....tame?
I wish it were as easy as riding a bike
nirakaro

Post by nirakaro »

+1!
If it was me though, I'd start at Rotterdam, head up the Rhine as far as Breisach, then up to the top of the Danube at Donaueschingen. Down the Danube to Ulm, across to Augsburg, where you pick up the Via Claudia Augusta all the way to Venice. Nice…
foxyrider

Post by foxyrider »

nirakaro wrote:+1!
If it was me though, I'd start at Rotterdam, head up the Rhine as far as Breisach, then up to the top of the Danube at Donaueschingen. Down the Danube to Ulm, across to Augsburg, where you pick up the Via Claudia Augusta all the way to Venice. Nice…

or you could go somewhat more directly down through Switzerland to Milan and across to Venice.
Convention? what's that then?
Airnimal Chameleon touring, Orbit Pro hack, Orbit Photon audax, Focus Mares AX tour, Peugeot Carbon sportive, Owen Blower vintage race - all running Tulio's finest!
cat skis

Post by cat skis »