Cycle Route Planner

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
BigTrev

Cycle Route Planner

Post by BigTrev »

Can anyone recommend a cycle route planner that will show gradient as well as distance. I'm sure there are loads but I'm new to this......
Paulatic

Re: Cycle Route Planner

Post by Paulatic »

http://cycle.travel/ Will show you elevation. Click on the picture of mountains after getting your route. As do many other sites. As for gradient you’ll have to guess at that ( steep and not so steep) by looking at the image.
Whatever I am, wherever I am, this is me. This is my life

https://stcleve.wordpress.com/category/lejog/
E2E info
RickH

Post by RickH »

Paulatic wrote:http://cycle.travel/ Will show you elevation. Click on the picture of mountains after getting your route. As do many other sites. As for gradient you’ll have to guess at that ( steep and not so steep) by looking at the image.

When you open the elevation profile there are 2 options 2D which just gives you the plain profile & is the default. If you choose 3D (the links are next to the ascent/descent totals, top right of the elevation section) you get a zoomable 3D profile with different colours for different gradients. I'm not sure what gradients the colours correspond to but red is steep! :D
Former member of the Cult of the Polystyrene Head Carbuncle.
iandriver

Post by iandriver »

As above, just bear in mind that those gradient profiling tools can make anything look terrifying when it is so condensed. Worth a look though.
Supporter of the A10 corridor cycling campaign serving Royston to Cambridge http://a10corridorcycle.com. Never knew gardening secateurs were an essential part of the on bike tool kit until I took up campaigning.....
Cunobelin

Post by Cunobelin »

I like Cycle Streets

It gives you three alternative routes, Fastest, Quietest, and Balanced.

Between the three there is usually a useable route