Downs and Weald and return

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
Elahe

Downs and Weald and return

Post by Elahe »

Hi,
I am planning to cycle from London to Hastings and back to London during the last weeks of August. And I've read that "From Crawley, the route splits: National Route 20 takes you straight down to Brighton from where you join National Route 2 heading along the coast to Eastbourne, while National Route 21 takes you east to East Groombridge on the traffic-free Worth Way and Forest Way.
From here the route turns southwards, joining the Cuckoo Trail at Heathfield on a virtually unbroken traffic-free route to Eastbourne. From Eastbourne, the route follows the coast to Hastings on National Route 2."
It's my first time in the UK and I don't quite know what type of weather and landscape and ride is expecting me. So I was wondering if you can help me decide
1. Is it a good idea to cycle my way back from Hastings to London? Is it too hilly or boring or few cycling routes?
2. Which road do you suggest I take at the split in Crrawley?
3. What is the best route to do?

Thanks
matt_twam_asi

Re: Downs and Weald and return

Post by matt_twam_asi »

1) Either route will give you some nice villages to cycle through and moderate terrain. As a general rule of thumb East Sussex is a smidge hillier than West Sussex, especially the Weald area.

2 & 3) I'd avoid Crawley altogether unless you want to use it for cheap accommodation. It's a post-war town which very little of interest for tourists. Redhill & Horley aren't much better. Stick to the countryside.