India to China

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
Conabike

India to China

Post by Conabike »

Hello everyone,

New to this forum. I want to plan a cycle ride from India to China. I have some cycle touring experience in Europe. Dream is to one day cycle the whole way to China from U.K. but unable due to work/reality of life. My work is seasonal and I’m able to take about 2months off between November-March. I still want to feel a real sense of journey and crossing continents/travelling to very different places and I think an India-China cycle might satisfy that...problem is I don’t know where to start with route planning. I would love to see some of the Himalayas also, Nepal/Tibet/Sikkim/Assam. Then maybe Bangladesh/Myanmar and onto Kunming in China.

In terms of my research so far I’ve had a look at the Adventure Cycle Touring handbook by Neil and Harriet Pike and just had a flick through cycling the Himalayas by Laura Stone - though I think it’s now fairly out of date as was written in 2008. Biggest problems are probably political - travelling freely across borders, independent travel in Tibet I know is now forbidden, and the weather - travelling in the winter months probably prohibit travelling some routes at higher altitudes.

Initially thinking starting in New Delhi, going up to the mountainous regions then dropping down and getting across to Kunming. If anyone could share any knowledge of this part of the world, has any route suggestions or could even point me towards some further reading I’d be really grateful.

Thank you all,
C.
pq

Re: India to China

Post by pq »

I'm not totally up to date with this, but I doubt it's possible.