Three Speed Day Rides and Touring, how long and how far.

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
Carlton green

Three Speed Day Rides and Touring, how long and how far.

Postby Carlton green » 8 Jan 2020, 9:20am

I’ve no recent experience of three speed hub gears but, several decades ago, I briefly had a three speed roadster. That Roadster got me about Town but I didn’t take it much further afield (as I young man I wanted to reach my destinations in less time and don’t like walking up hills - the side pull brakes on steel wheels were a liability too). My current hub gear is a five speed that I’ve very happily used for many years, so I am a hub hear ‘fan’. My Sach hub would probably still be running in a few decades but, as parts are effectively no longer available, the practicality of its further use is in question. I’m wondering about the vast supply of old Sturmey Archer three speed hubs and whether it’s time to consider a switch to using one of them. I’ll also have to find out about how to use them in /adapt them to 120mm over lock but form.

Initially the three speed hub seemed a bit limited in use to me and then I did a little research on their past use. Once you start to dig up information you discover that these things have been used for covering very long distances and in quite respectable times too - they have a reputation for extremely good reliability too. I’m wondering who uses a three speed hub now for day rides and say B&B touring? What mileages are easy enough to do and how have they been set up to use the hub to best advantage?

For what it’s worth I’m not looking to go fast, cover great distances or ride up every hill. I am looking for good examples of thoughtful use to see how I might learn from and perhaps copy them.
Last edited by Carlton green on 9 Jan 2020, 2:57pm, edited 1 time in total.

mjr

Re: Three Speed Touring, how long and how far.

Postby mjr » 8 Jan 2020, 10:24am