Views on GARMIN e Trex 32x

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
pwa

Views on GARMIN e Trex 32x

Post by pwa »

Bearing in mind that I am a complete novice with bike GPS, how suitable is this device for a tour of a week or more? Say 400 miles or more.

What I like is the AA batteries and good battery life.

The internal memory is largely taken up by the base map, but would I just need to load routes onto cards?

I plan on cycle.travel.

Any thoughts welcome.

I have zero interest in cadence etc that you get with more bike specific units.

https://www.activegps.co.uk/garmin-etrex-32x.htm
Last edited by pwa on 9 Jan 2020, 8:45am, edited 1 time in total.
MattH

Re: Views on GARMIN e Trex x32

Post by MattH »

I've used the etrex 30 for a few years now (which appears to be the previous incarnation) and it is has worked great on tours. I get something like 3 days per set of rechargeable AA batteries of use before needing to change over. No problems using in the wet and the altimeter works pretty well (a lot better than the one on my other bike computer which thinks the world is flat upon encountering a bit of drizzle).
Mostly preplan the routes although for some shorter journeys have used the route planning on the device with varying levels of success - generally good although took me down some ridiculous footpath in France when the nearby road would have been far quicker.
Sadly one of the zoom buttons has recently stopped working on it - I am hoping to fix it but even if I can't I believe it has more than paid for itself.
By the way if you so end up buying one, I find the best way to use it is to get it to follow a track rather than a route, and use whatever settings at necessary to ensure the device doesn't recalculate it when you go off route - I don't remember them off hand.
andrew_s

Post by andrew_s »