Pass through cache battery

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
User avatar
matt2matt2002
Posts: 893
Joined: 25 Oct 2009, 7:45pm
Location: Aberdeen Scotland UK

Pass through cache battery

Postby matt2matt2002 » 30 Jan 2020, 12:01pm

Any recommendations for a good high capacity pass through battery cache?
UK available.
2018 Ethiopia.5 weeks.
2018 Marrakech 2 weeks.
On a Thorn Raven/Rohloff hub.

Jdsk
Posts: 118
Joined: 5 Mar 2019, 5:42pm

Re: Pass through cache battery

Postby Jdsk » 30 Jan 2020, 12:03pm

Not sure what you're looking for... a USB battery pack, or something that only works with dynamo lights?

Jonathan

User avatar
matt2matt2002
Posts: 893
Joined: 25 Oct 2009, 7:45pm
Location: Aberdeen Scotland UK

Re: Pass through cache battery

Postby matt2matt2002 » 30 Jan 2020, 12:11pm

Jdsk wrote:Not sure what you're looking for... a USB battery pack, or something that only works with dynamo lights?

Jonathan


Sorry if unclear. I want to charge a portable battery bank. At the same time have my phone charging while topping up the battery.
2018 Ethiopia.5 weeks.
2018 Marrakech 2 weeks.
On a Thorn Raven/Rohloff hub.

PH
Posts: 8074
Joined: 21 Jan 2007, 12:31am
Location: Derby
Contact:

Re: Pass through cache battery

Postby PH » 30 Jan 2020, 12:27pm

I have a RAV one with pass through, works fine but hardly ever use that feature, If I'm charging from a socket I'll have a four port charger anyway and if I'm charging from a dynamo I'd rather use two smaller ones, one on charge, one in use.

User avatar
Tigerbiten
Posts: 1978
Joined: 29 Jun 2009, 6:49am

Re: Pass through cache battery

Postby Tigerbiten » 30 Jan 2020, 12:31pm

I think you'll find that most high end cache batteries will work in pass through mode.
My 6 year old Powermonkey battery does while my cheap ebay ones don't.
If in doubt then a quick enquiry somewhere can probably solve the problem.

Luck ....... :D

PH
Posts: 8074
Joined: 21 Jan 2007, 12:31am
Location: Derby
Contact:

Re: Pass through cache battery

Postby PH » 30 Jan 2020, 12:39pm

Tigerbiten wrote:I think you'll find that most high end cache batteries will work in pass through mode.
Luck ....... :D

I don't think any of the Anker ones do and they're probably one of the biggest names. They're opposed to it, suggesting it degrades the battery and causes overheating issues.

Jdsk
Posts: 118
Joined: 5 Mar 2019, 5:42pm

Re: Pass through cache battery

Postby Jdsk » 30 Jan 2020, 1:03pm

I use a TeckNet PowerZen 16,000 mA h. Very happy with it, and I'd buy another. The current equivalent probably has higher storage. The torch is sometimes convenient.

Jonathan

PS: This was part of my masterplan to be self-sufficient while touring. The Garmin Edge 1000 is much happier connected to this than run directly off the dynamo. But the B + M USB charging headlamp system failed. Twice.

User avatar
andrew_s
Posts: 5056
Joined: 7 Jan 2007, 9:29pm
Location: Gloucestershire

Re: Pass through cache battery

Postby andrew_s » 30 Jan 2020, 1:04pm

Zendure power banks do pass-through charging
sizes from A2 (6700mAh) to A8 (26800 mAh)

About 27000 is the limit for taking on an airline flight

I use an A3, but rarely use pass-through

User avatar
matt2matt2002
Posts: 893
Joined: 25 Oct 2009, 7:45pm
Location: Aberdeen Scotland UK

Re: Pass through cache battery

Postby matt2matt2002 » 30 Jan 2020, 1:58pm

Many thanks folks.
2018 Ethiopia.5 weeks.
2018 Marrakech 2 weeks.
On a Thorn Raven/Rohloff hub.

HobbesOnTour
Posts: 388
Joined: 20 Feb 2017, 5:12pm

Re: Pass through cache battery

Postby HobbesOnTour » 30 Jan 2020, 3:25pm

Without meaning to ignore your requirements, I echo the suggestion of two smaller powerbanks rather than one big one for reasons of practicality and redundancy.

In practise, I either charge a powerbank or my gps from my hub and recharge other devices off the bike from the powerbank(s).

If I have access to electricity the plug on my travel adapter has 2 USB ports.
(Personally, I think the number of USB ports is of more significance than pass through charging whether on plug or on powerbank)

Redundancy is in case a powerbank fails - I still have another.

I have a Zendure, bought specifically for "pass through". To be honest, beyond testing it out I haven't used it in that way.
Also, without testing & comparing, pass through did not seem to be any faster.
If I was to do it again, I'd save the extra money paid for the pass through feature.

PhilD28
Posts: 112
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 8:31am

Re: Pass through cache battery

Postby PhilD28 » 31 Jan 2020, 11:07am

My zendure A2 (I have two of them) work on pass through when charging from the mains but not from My Son 28/Luxos U system, so I end up charging the Zendures while riding and running my Garmin on it's battery then charging the Garmin from the zendure.
Zendure claim to have pass through charging but my experience is from the mains charger only.

User avatar
Sweep
Posts: 5949
Joined: 20 Oct 2011, 4:57pm
Location: London

Re: Pass through cache battery

Postby Sweep » 2 Feb 2020, 8:56am

PH wrote:
Tigerbiten wrote:I think you'll find that most high end cache batteries will work in pass through mode.
Luck ....... :D

I don't think any of the Anker ones do and they're probably one of the biggest names. They're opposed to it, suggesting it degrades the battery and causes overheating issues.

This is my impression as well.
Must admit I tend to trust them as:
I rate their products
By taking the position they do they are forsaking a potential sales point.
Sweep