What Are The Concerns With The New Disc Trucker?

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
simonhill

What Are The Concerns With The New Disc Trucker?

Post by simonhill »

In the current post about N to S America, there are a couple of mentions about 'concerns' with the latest iteration of the Surly Disc Trucker.

Out of interest for me and maybe as information to others, what are these concerns?

Ta.
rotavator

Re: What Are The Concerns With The New Disc Trucker?

Post by rotavator »

I have no direct experience of this bike but I do collect comments for and against such things from forums like this. Most of the negative comments that I have seen are about the fork:
1. Being very stiff and giving "a horribly harsh ride" (previous thread on this forum)
2. Poor QC on a Surly fork (this forum). I am not sure if this was for a SDT but I would hope for good QC especially considering their price.
3. Poor fit of Tubus Tara rack (yacf)

Then there is the common comment about these bikes that they are great when loaded but heavy and sluggish when unloaded.
rotavator

Post by rotavator »

You can also check out Alee Denham's review of the 2021 SDT here:
https://www.cyclingabout.com/2021-surly-disc-trucker-touring-bike/

He still rates it but critisises:
1. fewer spokes 36 down to 32
2. no kickstand mount
3. standover height on the smaller models
4. Alivio gear downgrade
5. Sora shifters
6. 26" wheels on smaller ones, he would prefer 27.5"
PH

Post by PH »

Also shorter chainstays, which for someone looking for an expedition bike might be the big one.