Drive Belt vs Chain, Rohloff Hub vs Derailler, and other questions.

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
BikeBuddha

Drive Belt vs Chain, Rohloff Hub vs Derailler, and other questions.

Post by BikeBuddha »

Hi All

I am brand new to touring and am thinking of going around the world by bike, working on organic farms along the way. If money was not an object, what features on a bike would you have?

Touring or Mountain Bike Are mountain bikes feasible?

Steel, aluminium or titanium frame? I have been told Steel is best because it can be welded.

Chain or Drive belt? I have been told Chain is best as the cutting out a section of the frame builds in weakness, and belt drives are not available in many less developed countries.

Rohloff hub or derailler? There are pros and cons to both, I know.

Dynamo with usb charger, vs no dynamo. No dynamo may be the way to go, as maps rather than gps might be best.

Rim brakes or disc brakes

Optional extras What features on a bike are a must (e.g. Mirror, lights, what paniers and bags?)

I have have looked at an Oxford Bike Works Expedition Model with a Rohloff hub..... what are your thoughts on this model compared to Koga, and the other brands?

https://www.oxfordbikeworks.co.uk/expedition

Thank you for any help you can give.

May you be happy and free from suffering.
Jdsk

Re: Drive Belt vs Chain, Rohloff Hub vs Derailler, and other questions.

Post by Jdsk »

BikeBuddha wrote:No dynamo may be the way to go, as maps rather than gps might be best.

But most tourers now have an array of devices that need to be charged, not only navigation tools. My opening bid would be a hub dynamo and a couple of USB battery packs. In areas with more sunlight than Europe I might consider a solar panel.

Jonathan
Thehairs1970

Post by Thehairs1970 »

Cyclingabout.com has reviews on a number of these things.
willem jongman

Post by willem jongman »

These are very personal things, but: