What should I do with my bike when camping?

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
sebgiambrone

What should I do with my bike when camping?

Post by sebgiambrone »

Hi guys

I am planning a solo Eastern European bike tour next summer and have come up upon a slight problem (well I hope its not a problem). As I am a poor student I'm going to opt for the cheaper camping option when possible. But I was wondering what people do with their bikes when they are tucked up in a nice warm tent? Is it safe to just lock it to the closest tree or fence, or should I consider a bulky tent that can fit both me and my bike?

Thanks
S :D
"You speak for a whole generation when you keep your mouth shut".
meic

Re: What should I do with my bike when camping?

Post by meic »

This exact question has been asked before. Unfortunately I am no expert on the searches either.

I have always relied on being well hid myself.
Yma o Hyd
cycleruk

Post by cycleruk »

Certainly lock it to something solid.
Not so long ago I read of the guy who tied his bike to the tent.
Tent went as well. :shock:

Consider a movement / vibration detector alarm fixed on the bike.
You'll never know if you don't try it.
braz

Post by braz »

..............put your bike in the tent and sleep outside.............

regards to all, Braz.
tatanab

Post by tatanab »

When away from the tent, even at the toilet block, I lock it to a tree or anything to make moving difficult. At night I pass one of the tent poles through a wheel and possibly pass a lock to an inner tent peg. My resaoning is that if you have to lift the tent pole then I am going to wake up.
Edvardus

Post by Edvardus »