LEJOG experienced cycle partner needed

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
Lloydy

LEJOG experienced cycle partner needed

Postby Lloydy » 13 Jan 2007, 6:57pm

Hi, I am a 14 year old student. Me and my friend have just started training for the ultimate cycle challenge, Lands end to John O'Groats. We would be planning to do it in the summer holidays and have already started planning for the event. We are in need of an adult to accompany us on this huge challenge. We would like to meet you and we would then discuss routes and planning. We are doing this for world challenge. We already have T.V and newspaper coverage. If you are intrested please email: Chrishilary3@aol.com. Thanks!

Will Lloyd

vernon

Re: LEJOG experienced cycle partner needed

Postby vernon » 16 Jan 2007, 7:31pm

Lloydy wrote:Hi, I am a 14 year old student. Me and my friend have just started training for the ultimate cycle challenge, Lands end to John O'Groats. We would be planning to do it in the summer holidays and have already started planning for the event. We are in need of an adult to accompany us on this huge challenge. We would like to meet you and we would then discuss routes and planning. We are doing this for world challenge. We already have T.V and newspaper coverage. If you are intrested please email: Chrishilary3@aol.com. Thanks!

Will Lloyd

Hi Will,

I don't want to rain on your parade but in the current climate of legisaltion encompassing 'The Children Act' and enhanced Criminal Record Bureau checks (CRBs) compels me to warn you about the potential hazards of your request.

In the 'good old days' the perceived risks of your proposed group adventure would have been zero. However I would be very cautious now of inviting a total stranger to chaperone two teenagers on a major adventure without establishing that the cheperone was trustworthy, reliable and criminal record free and without an entry in the sex offenders register.