Iceland

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
katied

Iceland

Post by katied »

I am planning on doing a cycling trip of Iceland in Aug/Sept & wondering if anybody can offer some advice. This is my first cycling trip & I am planning on camping/wildcamping where possible.

I'm a little concerned about the weather & how tough the cycling might be. Also, not sure what kind of bike I should be looking for (sorry, I am a complete novice!).

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you
Ron

Post by Ron »

Cycling in Iceland can be quite an adventure. :)
Distances between communities can be quite long, and eating out facilities are few and far between, although most villages had a camp site, some were quite primitive. There is always food available at petrol stations, but this is usually fast food, and not suitable for cyclists who are burning a lot of energy. Probably best to take cooking facilities and be prepared to do all of your own cooking. Temperatures are lower, I saw few if any cyclists wearing shorts in summer when fog wind and rain can be expected. Route 1 circles the country, and every year a little more is tarred, but best to have a hybrid with wider tyres as you will be off road at times. Take a high quality sleeping bag, the nights can be cold. You might also want to consider an eye mask to help sleep, as it will not get dark at night in summer, and this can disturb sleep patterns. I had some language problems in the more isolated areas with only the youngsters speaking English. You might want to consider going by ferry which calls in at the Faroes en route to or from Iceland.