Cycling plus magazine

Please be fair and thoughtful in your opinions. No rants please.
cycleforlife

Cycling plus magazine

Post by cycleforlife »

I have a subscription with Cycling Plus magazine which has just had a revamp. The latest issue (July) dropped through the door with a heavy clunk. 113 pages of full adverts and the usual bike test on etap/sportive type bikes with just a nod towards the rest of the cycling world. A friend wondered why Roger St Pierre's writings on cycling's history had vanished and found out "Retro has run It's course" according to C plus. (It reviews retro jerseys on page 151)
There is a very large part of the cycling world not geared up to sportive/etap, thousands of pound machines so I hope CTCs cycle magazine doesn't forget tourist, audax and the rest of the cycling world that doesn't need a feather light carbon frame for Tour de France wannabes.
I'll have to see if I keep a subscription up on Cycling plus at £4.50 shop price for a magazine full of adverts. The new magazine,Cycling Active may need looking into. I do (used to) like my cycling magazines.
hubgearfreak

Re: Cycling plus magazine

Post by hubgearfreak »

we discussed magazines before, and i went off on a rant :lol:

whether you buy C+ in whs or online, it's a lot of money that could buy OS maps - which are a far better read 8)

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=45271
NewHorizon

Post by NewHorizon »

I've subscribed to it for years and take the rough with the smooth - some issues are better (for me) than others. I'm hoping this latest issue is a blip - its their 250th issue - and, I agree, there's not a lot in there for 'the rest of the cycling world'. My biggest disappointment is the routes seem to have dropped from 3 to 1 - this was my favourite part and I've ridden a good few of those featured in the past. At least they've dropped the ridiculous buyers guide/list of every bike made (which it wasn't).
The Mechanic

Post by The Mechanic »