May / June 2017

Specific board for this popular undertaking.
Newbiecyclist

May / June 2017

Post by Newbiecyclist »

Hi all,

Sooo, I'm a completely newbie cyclist. When I mean completely. I mean I have literally never rode more than 5 miles on a mountain bike whilst commuting to work... LOL.

I have been wanting to do something really challenging for Cancer Research for a long time now. It was always going to be fitness / stamina / endurance related to give myself something to train towards. My research and searching for ideas threw up hundreds of options. But I always find myself coming back to this. So here goes. I'm still in the very earliest stages of planning (I don't even have a bike yet)! So I have a million questions, some of which I have read a little about and some of which I haven't yet. If anybody could help me out with any of these it would be GREATLY appreciated.

A little about me. I'm 26 (27 in 2 months) I'm a little overweight and I'm quite a large guy. 5ft 11. 92kg at present (I plan to lose a good few kg before taking on the challenge). I am of an OK fitness level. I have played amateur sports on and off over the years. But I am by no means an athlete and running any longer than a couple of miles is a real challenge at present. So I suspect cycling to be the same. I have no strict time scale. I have 26 days off from work the 25th May until my wedding day on 17th June. So it's not an issue if the challenge takes longer than originally anticipated. Are any casual (slow!!) cyclists planning on taking on the challenge around this time???!