Very tentatively considering JOGLE 2020 - ideas?

Specific board for this popular undertaking.
LittleGreyCat

Very tentatively considering JOGLE 2020 - ideas?

Post by LittleGreyCat »

In September 2020 I will be 70 years old.
Scary thought, but apart from getting wasted on the day I was wondering how to suitably celebrate.

As i'm just getting into touring cycling at around 40-50 miles a day I was very tentatively contemplating doing JOGLE in September 2020 with the aim to finish around my birthday at the end of September.

I realise that this is right at the end of the normal season but it seemed appropriate.

https://cycle.travel/map/journey/122770 is a simple reversal of a LEJOG route posted on this forum as a Cycle.Travel route avoiding the most extreme hills, and it does seem an attractive route.

The simplest option seems to be credit card B&B, with the downside of not being 100% sure what each day will bring and if you will make the planned evening stop.

The simplest solution to this would be to plan a conservative schedule and accept that you might take a few days longer and have days when you arrived at your destination early. Alternatively, book the first few nights and then wing it.

Today we are near the end of August and the beginning of September.
Looking at the rain radar it is hurling it down from Inverness upwards, to it would be reasonable to assume that there are likely to be a good few wet days until the ride gets south of Leeds. Global warming only seems to apply from the Midlands down.

Assuming a total route length of 1091 miles at 60 miles per day that gives 18 days cycling which does seem reasonable.
Advice from http://cycle-endtoend.org.uk/index.php?option=com_jefaq&view=faq&Itemid=218 suggests that rest days may not be a good idea because people struggle to get back into the rythm after a day off (also seen in the TdF).