Bike upgrade for LEJOG

Specific board for this popular undertaking.
Amateur John

Bike upgrade for LEJOG

Post by Amateur John »

I'm planning to ride LEJOG in a couple of years time and am just starting to get a budget together. I currently have a Ridgeback Meteor 2015 which has been a very reliable bike but in my opinion a little sluggish and heavy. Would I benifit significantly from a bike upgrade or would this bike suffice? If I would benefit then what improvement can I expect?

I would like to cover about 70-100 miles per day, depending on terrain on mainly cycle trails and quiet roads so any improvement would be welcome. I plan to travel via b&bs.

I don't mind spending the money if I get an improvement, but I am a complete amateur on this and with so much choice don't know where to start. At what point do you start to spend hundreds of pound extra just for very small gains. Any advice will be extremely useful.
rotavator

Re: Bike upgrade for LEJOG

Post by rotavator »

a little sluggish and heavy
would describe a lot of dedicated touring bikes IMHO :lol: so think carefully before you splash the cash on a new bike.

Ask yourself:
1. Is it comfortable for say 7 hours in the saddle?
2. Is bottom gear low enough for you to get up the hills whilst loaded?
3.. Does it have the fittings for rack/s and mudguards?

If you answer yes to Q. 1-3 then I would use the bike. If your current tyres seem slow or are worn a worthwhile upgrade could be some new tyres, may be Schwalbe Marathon Supremes.
Last edited by rotavator on 9 Jun 2020, 2:00pm, edited 1 time in total.
whoof

Post by whoof »

Your hybrid bike has a reasonable spread of gears and whilst by no means light at about 14kg is about the same as most touring bikes.
Three things affect how fast or easy cycling is. Fitness, weight and wind resistance.and comfort