First LEJOG

Specific board for this popular undertaking.
Dallas1972

First LEJOG

Post by Dallas1972 »

Looking for any help and assistance possible, myself and 2 friends are planning to do the Lejog in May 2021 if Covid allows, we are in the early stages of planning and are very fortunate to have another friend that is going to support us along the whole route. I am a newbie to road riding but increasing my mileage every week and as we are in West Wales, we have plenty of hills to train on, due to my work commitments we are looking to complete in 10 days. Looking at some people’s previous route’s it looks like the first couple of days could be the toughest with the climbing, we are looking for any advice they the community can give especially on routes, accommodation and must visit places, I really would like to ride through Glencoe, any thoughts on this route.
We are looking to try and ride around 100 miles a day and to keep off A roads wherever possible but 10 days is our max, what are thoughts on taking 1 day at some point as a rest day, is it needed?
So many questions I know, any thoughts and advice on any points would be very much appreciated.
Thanks Dallas
cycleruk

Re: First LEJOG

Post by cycleruk »

If you want to ride through Glencoe then it's "A" roads for sure.
Basically the route via Glencoe will take you from Glasgow to Fort William and then probably to Inverness.
Do you intend camping or B&B ?
You'll never know if you don't try it.
rareposter

Post by rareposter »

Dallas1972 wrote:We are looking to try and ride around 100 miles a day and to keep off A roads wherever possible but 10 days is our max, what are thoughts on taking 1 day at some point as a rest day, is it needed?

Does the 10 days include the day required to get to LE and the day to get back from JOG?
Here's a 9-day route that does Glencoe. If you can hit that on a weekday, it's vastly quieter than trying it on a weekend!

https://www.mapmytracks.com/events/delo ... itain-2016
Dallas1972