Some advice needed

Specific board for this popular undertaking.
vipdog

Some advice needed

Post by vipdog »

I'm new to the forum and would like to ask for some advice.I'm doing JOGLE on the 3/4 and hope to finish on the 13/4.I'm doing it for charity with my 13 year old son.
My questions are is it safe to camp on the way,i'm cycling on a more rural route and i guess probably i won't find a camping site very often.Also what is the best option of transport to get from Thurso to JOG as i will go by train from London to Thurso. My last question i do not have a gps is it alright to use only maps.
These questions might sound silly but i'm a newbie and is my first time doing a ride like this and specialy with no support.
bfbf

Re: Some advice needed

Post by bfbf »

Hi

I am new too so this should just give you some ideas...

That means you will be doing 90 miles a day, with limited day light hours and it being quite cold. It is possible but I would check that your fitness it up to it before going. Lots of day rides. Maybe cycle to a place 100miles away, camp and come back. You will work out any issues you have then.

Camping is possible, on the main CTC site there is a camping route which will mean that the route stops at lots of camp sites. There are enough to do it. However it Scotland it is legal to wield camp, which could be possible some nights. Also Hostels are also sometimes similarly priced to camp sites so may be nice having a couple of nights in a bed.

And of course it is alright just to use maps! What do you think people did those 10-15 years ago when GPSs barely existed :o Would be a good idea to spend some time looking at the route each night and again that is where the maps on the main CTC site may come in handy. Having someone available on the phone with google maps would also be useful if you get lost. Also not sure what Sat-Navs some people have but mine does not last 10 days without a charge :( Or even 1 hour so maps are the way to go!