Training for 10 day JOGLE

Specific board for this popular undertaking.
tomob57

Training for 10 day JOGLE

Postby tomob57 » 30 May 2010, 11:33pm

Hi all,
I'm starting my end to end in about 8 weeks, and I'm looking for advice on training. I'm hoping to go about 95 miles a day, taking a fairly scenic route. I'm carrying a tent and planning to camp wherever I can find.

I'm thinking of a pretty intensive training along these lines:
week 1-3: hit the gym hard to get a good base.
week 4-6: start building up endurance on the road by cycling 5/6 days a week.
weeks 7-8: long sessions, 80/90 miles back to back.

I'm pretty motivated and in good shape, but have no prior experience of long distance cycling. As a student I can train every day though.

Is this training over optimistic? I'm pretty sure JOGLE is easier than it sounds.

Out of interest my route is this: http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=d&sourc ... 240479&z=8

Cherwell

Re: Training for 10 day JOGLE

Postby Cherwell » 31 May 2010, 12:31pm

Week 1 - 2: On road cycling 4 days a week. Long steady distance but don't overdo it. Visit gym once a week. Upper body, core strength and stretching excersises - no leg exercises.
Week 3: Recovery. Easy does it. Ride your bike nice and steady but don't over exert yourself. Go to gym once a week as before.
Week 4 - 5: As for weeks 1 & 2 but increase intensity and distance. Include some tough hilly rides to get the hills into your legs. Go to gym once a week as before.
Week 6: Recovery as before.
Week 7: Two long sessions back to back, one recovery ride, one high intensity ride and one visit to gym.
Week 8: Recovery as before.

To do 95 miles a day requires exceptional raw endurance, muscular endurance and strength for climbing combined with the need to recover quickly to be ready for the next day. Recovery is key. You have to train your body to recover quickly. Rest days, cross training and very low intensity rides are all ways of doing this.