Day food for LEJOG

Specific board for this popular undertaking.
Velcro

Day food for LEJOG

Post by Velcro »

Hi Guys & Girls, I'm kinda new to all this but we're doing LEJOG this month from 17th to 3rd August. Does anyone have any tips on day food (nibbles, bananas, apples etc) to keep strength and stamina up for the 6 hours a day? North London Hospice are our Charity.
Ta
delport

Re: Day food for LEJOG

Post by delport »

I generally buy 500 ml or 800 ml bottles of yogurt on my trip,and drink that in one go, normally outside the supermarket, i have bananas most days.
fig roll biscuits, don't know if they help me or not, but i'd assume so.
I have things like rice pudding and fruit cocktail, boil cooked vegetables from a tin.
I also have multi vitamins every day which are 2p to 3 p a tablet if bought in a tub.
I need B12 as a long term vegetarian and that is a good way of getting B12.

Just a few ideas there.

What about energy drinks such as lucozade too?
I avoid the other type of energy drink as it keeps me awake, the red bull type.

Breakfast cereals are easy enough too before you start the day, just need cereal, milk and a bowl.

I often cycled more than 6 hours a day on my JOG-LE trip.
Jack Strop

Post by Jack Strop »

Bananas, malt loaf, muesli/granola bars, chocolate, pasta salads are all good. When I stayed at Travelodges, I would have a banana and granola bar prior to setting off, get 20 miles or so under my belt and then stop at a café or Tesco and have a full English breakfast. That kept me going for a good few hours, then I’d get another 40 miles done, before stopping for a late lunch. 20 miles later reach my destination, eat and rehydrate immediately. Shower, relax and then hit the pub for more food. That's based on my typical 80 mile/8 hour day.

The reality is you can eat what you want. In huge, huge quantities. The hardest thing, I found, was cutting down on my food intake, after completing my JOGLE!
Si

Post by Si »