Woman Topic About Cycle Shorts and the Monthly

Tyre Lady

Woman Topic About Cycle Shorts and the Monthly

Postby Tyre Lady » 6 Mar 2019, 1:04am

Hi All - Was at a cycle shop looking for padded shorts.
I understand that they should be worn without underwear.

Have no problems except when my monthly is on + I will be trying to complete 2000+ miles over 2 months with 2 runs thrown in.

Would like to know what women do when that happens. Are there padded shorts where the padded part can unclip so that a good wash can be given if there is blood on it or do I need to wear something else in addition. Grateful for sisterly help in this area

p.s. I am a rookie
Low carbon, zero waste running journey

eileithyia

Re: Woman Topic About Cycle Shorts and the Monthly

Postby eileithyia » 6 Mar 2019, 8:16am

Think it can depend on your period and how heavy it can be.
Can you avoid cycling on a 'heavy' day? Or do shorter rides? I used to commute 17 miles one way, and would wear pants under my shorts on those days with no problems of chaffing etc...
if shorts got marked I would just cold soak them and then wash as normal....
Sometimes it is a case of trial and error to find what suits you and your body.
I stand and rejoice everytime I see a woman ride by on a wheel the picture of free, untrammeled womanhood. HG Wells

Tyre Lady

Postby Tyre Lady » 6 Mar 2019, 1:30pm

Thanks @eileithyia -
Have found cycling under shorts and wonder if that could be used with padded shorts? Hmm might feel like a thick pad underneath which would be uncomfortable. Does anyone use a breathable padded pair of shorts they would recommend?

I would like to keep moving as much as possible as have a timeframe to get to my destinations

landsurfer

Postby landsurfer » 6 Mar 2019, 5:27pm

Me not him ...
Mirena Coil ..... say goodbye to the problem ..

Jules ......
“I’m responsible only for what I say, not what you understand.”

The Road Goes on Forever.

Tyre Lady

Postby Tyre Lady » 6 Mar 2019, 6:31pm