Taming the Fuego

DIscuss anything relating to non-standard cycles and their equipment.
hercule

Taming the Fuego

Post by hercule »

I though it might be worth noting this for anyone who is struggling with their recumbent.

I've been riding recumbents for over 10 years now, first and mostly trikes, though I have had a fascination with the two wheeled variety. I've struggled to get on with the two wheelers, though - my LWB Tour Easy clone is not the most manageable of beasts, BikeEs are a bit slow (and give me terrible recumbutt after a while). I really enjoyed my Pashley PDQ, it was quick, stable, and responsive, but a bit twitchy at speed and a inch or so too high for me to be wholly confident I could get a foot down when needed.

I bought a Nazca Fuego second hand 4 years ago and whilst I have mostly enjoyed riding it, I've have struggled with its slow speed handling, hills and road junctions made me feel very anxious. Sometimes it's felt like riding it has been a challenge rather than a pleasure, and I've reached the point at times where I have seriously thought of trading it in for another trike, but before doing that had resolved to see if I could improve the handling issue. I considered the positive features of my PDQ, which were a relatively upright seat and virtually tiller free steering and tried to see if I could replicate them on my Fuego.