Gearing question for recumbents.

DIscuss anything relating to non-standard cycles and their equipment.
Tangled Metal

Gearing question for recumbents.

Post by Tangled Metal »

My recumbent seems to have a very folded up rear derailleur. I am new to riding it so haven't had it out of middle chainring and mid to small cog on the cassette. It looks like the derailleur will not move out enough to go to the larger cassette cogs. What is that about and how to correct it?

I know they're just standard mtb Deore derailleur but I thought coming to this section might get better advice.

BTW I've lengthened the boom by a few inches, as far as the front derailleur cable allows. The chain looks like it could allow more movement. I do need to lengthen the boom by replacing cable and looking at chain but putting it off until I've had a proper ride on it up and down hills on the road. Only done one flat off road ride.
PDQ Mobile

Re: Gearing question for recumbents.

Post by PDQ Mobile »

The chain has to be just the right length to accommodate pretty much all gear combinations.
If you are astute about gear selection ie. never use large front onto the larger rears then slightly shorter is ok.
It's just like a conventional bike except that the long chain enables more crossed chain lines without significant issue, for example.,the front "granny ring" can be used in combination with quite small rears.
It's handy in a steep place sometimes
If you've extended the boom then you almost certainly need to add links. Best is to run the bike hanging on a rope or on a stand, though all the gears. You can see what's going on then.
Last edited by PDQ Mobile on 16 Feb 2018, 9:54am, edited 2 times in total.
[XAP]Bob

Post by [XAP]Bob »

An inch of boom movement changes the chain length by two inches...

If you’ve moved the book you need to change chain length (or have an easy adjustvaddon)