New rider, new HPV Speedmachine - questions and observations

DIscuss anything relating to non-standard cycles and their equipment.
Lucasshmucas

New rider, new HPV Speedmachine - questions and observations

Post by Lucasshmucas »

I've just got back from my first ride on my new (to me) Speedmachine. I enjoyed the ride, especially going downhill, and managed to negotiate junctions and tight turns through gates on the canal path without too much trouble. I had a couple of frights on taking a hand off the bars but also managed to do it without crashing into a hedge.

I appreciate that I'm new to riding 'bents so am not yet used to the position and handling and have not yet developed 'bent legs so some of what follows may just be passing concerns that will dissipate with experience. However I would love to know what other people think, either to reassure me that it isn't a problem, or to confirm that it might be.

1. I found the handling quite twitchy. I don't know if this is down to the size of the front wheel, the head angle or the short wheelbase but it was a bit disconcerting at times. It seemed to improve at speed but I found that the gentler I was with steering inputs the better it behaved. Overall it felt a bit stressful, either because it misbehaved or because I was having to remember to gentle with the steering. Does this get better over time? How do other bikes compare?

2. The suspension was great. Rode over some small speed humps that cause a jolt even on my fat tyred bikes, but on (in?) the Speedmachine there was just the smallest indication of a bump in the road.