Highracers - any experiences or advice ?

DIscuss anything relating to non-standard cycles and their equipment.
belgiangoth

Highracers - any experiences or advice ?

Post by belgiangoth »

I think n+1 will be a highracer. Looking about at hamster barred highracer options it looks like performer or metabike, as optima appear to be on hiatus. Have I ignored an obvious manufacturer? I have discounted stickbikes because I am european, but at 6’2” I would probably not have many of the stickbike issues and should maybe try one for the better chain efficiency. They are ugly though. Rather tempted by a cruzbike, but unlikely to pop up in my price range.
Any thoughts or recommendations?
If I had a baby elephant, I would put it on a recumbent trike so that it would become invisible.
PDQ Mobile

Re: So, highracers

Post by PDQ Mobile »

I always fancied a Challenge Seiran.
Looked well thought out.
But I have no experience of one.
Pricey too i guess.

http://www.challenge-recumbents.com/seiran_detail.php
luminova11

Re: Highracers - any experiences or advice ?

Post by luminova11 »

Don't forget to take a look at Nazca. Tiller steered available on all their highracers.
https://www.nazca-ligfietsen.nl/models
Stradageek

Post by Stradageek »

I found the Sieran very disappointing, never felt the power was getting from the pedals to the rear wheel.

I have a 'stick-bike' the now defunct Bacchetta Strada which I find fabulous. Very fast and an excellent climber. It is also very easy to ride, with excellent low speed stability, something that people tell me you can't say about the Metabike.

My lowracer (Speedmachine) is slightly faster on the flat, especially into a headwind, but if the terrain is hilly the only recumbent I have that excels is the Strada. A combination of light weight and transmission efficiency I'm guessing. The Corsa or Aero should be even better.