Where to start with recumbents?

DIscuss anything relating to non-standard cycles and their equipment.
Freedom21tim

Where to start with recumbents?

Post by Freedom21tim »

I'm new to the recumbent world although have been rather intrigued by them for sometime. I have done a fair amount of reading and think i know what i would like to try first but budget is tight. £400-£500 tops

I'm doing the Coast and Castles - Newcastle- Edinburgh at the end of May so something that can take a rack would be handy.
I'm 5'8" 75kgs, there is a medium Kingcycle on EBay which looks tidy but not sure if you can fit a rack? Pashley PDQ seems neat
And rather like the Crystal/speed Ross. There was one on Gumtree a few weeks back which i missed by prevaricating for to long. Are there any others I should look out for or has anyone got something gathering dust in their Shed or Garage. Don't mind if it needs a little work either.

I will say i havent actually ridden one yet but pretty confident I'll be ok, I've joined BHPC and am planning to go to the race meet at Hillingdon in April.

Thanks, Tim
Current collection
On One Inbred
Orbit tandem
Ellsworth Moment
Giant Halfway Rd
Home made Bent
pn_day

Re: Where to start with recumbents?

Post by pn_day »

Hi Tim,
Have you ridden any?

I would get yourself to a shop and try a few out - even just to decide what sort of recumbent suits you - tadpole trike, low racer, high racer etc?
I'm not sure where you are - but as you mentioned Edinburgh, Laid back bikes are worth a wee visit on a Saturday.

Good luck,
Phil
[XAP]Bob

Post by [XAP]Bob »

Kinetics in Glasgow, or DTek near Cambridge are the other major options.
A shortcut has to be a challenge, otherwise it would just be the way. No situation is so dire that panic cannot make it worse.
There are two kinds of people in this world: those can extrapolate from incomplete data.
[XAP]Bob

Post by [XAP]Bob »