Passing horse riders on a recumbent trike

DIscuss anything relating to non-standard cycles and their equipment.
fullfathom5

Passing horse riders on a recumbent trike

Post by fullfathom5 »

Does anybody have any advice regarding the best way to pass horse riders as I understand horses can be spooked by trikes - particularly those with flags? Saturday was my first encounter with horse riders and even though my flag wasn't fitted (I'd forgotten it!) on both occasions the horses seemed nervous. Thanks
[XAP]Bob

Re: Passing horse riders on a recumbent trike

Post by [XAP]Bob »

Talk - talk to the horse (and maybe the rider a bit).
If they are really spooked then stand up if you can.
A shortcut has to be a challenge, otherwise it would just be the way. No situation is so dire that panic cannot make it worse.
There are two kinds of people in this world: those can extrapolate from incomplete data.
Psamathe

Post by Psamathe »

I'm still pretty new to Recumbent Trikes but there a lot of horses around my locality and the few I've passed have shown no signs of being spooked but I have been talking.

I've only ridden horses a couple of times so certainly no rider but from 2-wheel DF cycling I think I'm fairly sensitive to detecting a horse showing signs of concern.

Whenever I come across a horse I tend to call out to the rider as soon as I can without shouting but normally the horse has already noticed me. On my bent, horse has been fine but rider a lot less certain as in I say "say if you want me to stop, unsure if I might upset him" rider replies "he's never seen one of those before" and rider is talking and patting horse.

Noting my lack of bent experience I just go slow and talk and be ready to stop.