What do you look for in a campsite

Specifically for cycle touring subjects & questions
bretonbikes

What do you look for in a campsite

Post by bretonbikes »

Hi All.

As some of you know we have been based at the local campsite on the Nantes-Brest canal for 25 years run by the commune, but the place has become so run down we've been forced to take it over. It is my intention to make it the best cyclecamping site on the planet so what I'm asking here is for help on what makes a campsite perfect for cyclists. Kate and I have been doing this for 30 years so we know what we want but we may well miss something essential!

So this is what we have so far.

Large area exclusively for lightweights - no motorized vehicles of any kind (no drunk campervan driver terrifying you at midnight).
Decent grass - no 'burnt' patches of mud or gravel where caravans have been
No enclosed emplacements so tents scattered as you like (no vehicles remember).
Fixed per person price, no extras for emplacements, showers etc
Stock of common spares and tools and repair service
Emergency food/wine stock for those arriving after shops are shut
Covered area with tables and chairs
Covered camp-kitchen with cookers/fridge etc
Fire-pit and berbecue
Canoe Hire
Loo roll!
Free route plans for the area.

OK - let us know what's missing...

The campsite is in the middle of a well 'equipped' village so that covers other stuff.

This is very important to us - if we don't make it work we get evicted...

Cheers

Geoff
38 years of cycletouring, 33 years of running cycling holidays, 8 years of running a campsite for cyclists - there's a pattern here...
al_yrpal

Re: What do you look for in a campsite

Post by al_yrpal »

A toilet and a tap and peace and quiet. But.. I wish you the very best with your venture, if its aimed at cyclists you are sure to do well there.

Al