Cleaning Up: - Yourself, Your Clothes / Kit / Doing Dishes.

Specifically for cycle touring subjects & questions
JackRabbitSlims

Postby JackRabbitSlims » 9 Jun 2016, 9:24pm

Hi,

I'm just wondering what other readers thoughts are on carrying a "kitchen sink" - http://www.gearshop.co.nz/products/sea- ... k-10-litre or, "folding bucket" http://www.gearshop.co.nz/products/sea- ... bucket-10l with them whilst cycle touring / camping?

I'm still a little new to all this and I've missed my projected Cycle Tour in Europe for this year, will have to push it out until this time next year....so still planning and info gathering etc.

Are campers / tourers using something like this to wash themselves down after a big day, wash their clothes / kit, and also clean up their camping kitchen utensils?
I would consider heating up some water in the Trangia, making up a warm bucket of water give myself a decent wash down, soak and rinse my riding kit....and then use it again (not the same water obviously) to clean up the kitchen stuff
Is this over kill??
I suppose much depends on where you're camping and access to bathroom facilities etc.

I've done some high altitude trekking in India and Nepal - on arrival at our destination, i would usually order a basin of hot water. I would use this to give myself a quick wash down with a small flannel and travel soap, I'd then use the same water to hand wash some of my kit (mainly sock liners and underwear etc)
I thought something like the S2S offering would come in handy for similar jobs whilst Cycle Touring / Camping etc??

Cheers.

Heltor Chasca

Postby Heltor Chasca » 9 Jun 2016, 9:33pm