Jetboil or Trangia

Specifically for cycle touring subjects & questions
sbcoombs

Jetboil or Trangia

Post by sbcoombs »

I’m new to bikepacking and sourcing kit for a couple of tours next year. Longest will be 10 days across the alps.

I’ll be mainly camping but with a motel every few days. I’ll never be too far from small towns.

I see there are spirit burners like Trangia and integrated cooking units like Jetboil or an Apkit equivalent.

What are the views of those with more experience, as I’m unsure which to go for.

Any feedback would be appreciated
Last edited by sbcoombs on 11 Oct 2017, 10:06pm, edited 1 time in total.
PH

Re: Jetboil or Trangia

Post by PH »

I have both, they’re different things for different jobs. If you intend cooking the Trangia takes some beating,even more so if you add the gas ring. If all you want is to heat stuff up fast - hot drinks and the like, then a Jetboil wins. If you’re counting the grams, there’s some even lighter options, but I like the convenience of the Jetboil.
rualexander

Post by rualexander »

In Europe, alcohol for a Trangia will be easier to buy than gas canisters for a Jetboil.
For a ten day trip you might be able to manage on just one litre bottle of fuel alcohol depending on how much cooking you do.
crazydave789

Post by crazydave789 »

one pot cooksets might be more fun to source as I have always been turned off by the jetboil system, a stanley 700ml pot, a rocket stove and the adapters we discussed on sweeps thread. add a pop can trangia and you have all bases covered. I'd always go for something you can use on an open fire or stovetop.