"Best" panniers for cycle camping

Specifically for cycle touring subjects & questions
MrsHJ

"Best" panniers for cycle camping

Post by MrsHJ »

I have loads on at the moment so the back of my brain is spinning away considering new rear pannier options.

I was trying to identify the main panniers to look into when considering my upgrade from the ortlieb classic rollers which I'm not a huge fan of. As an accountant I feel a strong need to review all the options and tabulate the key good things so could you let me know if I've missed any good brands out:

List in no particular order:
1. Thule- shield L or pack and pedal adventure.
2. Altura dryline 56
3. Carradice super C
4. Vaude aquapack plus
5. Ortlieb bikepacker plus
6. Arkel XM 45 or GT 54
7. Lone Peak mount superior
8. Jandd mountain expedition.
Edit: Topeka and Basil. Crosso axim, Agu (was my first set of ".touring panniers" aka an up and over shopping set -from Agu? )

I'll probably do a nice list of things important to me like:
1. Size
2. Ease of attachment
3. Practical access for my stuff.
4. Organisation.
5. Dryness.
6. Cheerful colour (this just might be my priority!).
7. Affordability.
8. Ease of getting hold of (I don't want to be hit by VAT and customs duties when I can get a perfectly acceptable one in the UK).

Edit.
9. Weight.
19. Absolutely MUST NOT be a tube style pannier with one storage space accessed by the top only!
Last edited by MrsHJ on 24 Jul 2018, 10:22pm, edited 5 times in total.
foxyrider

Re: "Best" panniers for cycle camping

Post by foxyrider »

You already have the best which tick pretty much all your boxes. Every single one of tour alternatives hit fewer points. If the only reason you have for not liking the Ortlieb Classics is finding your stuff in them I suggest that is what you should start looking at.