Have you used a down quilt instead of a bag?

Specifically for cycle touring subjects & questions
1982john

Have you used a down quilt instead of a bag?

Post by 1982john »

I thinking of something like this for a British summer

https://www.ultralightoutdoorgear.co.uk ... uilt-p8628
Mountain Equipment - Helium Quilt

It's almost half the weight of my current bag and I imagine would take up a lot less space. Maybe combine it with some warm camp clothing which I'd probably take anyway.

Guessing others must have tried something like this out?
PH

Re: Have you used a down quilt instead of a bag?

Post by PH »

I've been using one for 10+ years, first recommended it on this forum in 2010 after I'd had it a couple of years. Still using the same one, average 25ish nights a year, had it professionally cleaned once, still very pleased with it. Whether it's right for you depends on your needs and likes and I have no experience of the one linked.
Needs a good insulated mat, also benefits from a cover on the mat for comfort. I wear lightweight PJs, which adds some warmth and also helps keep the quilt clean. It won't be as warm as a close fitting mummy style bag, but I've never slept well in those bags anyway, nor do I camp in extreme weather, though I've been warm enough when there's been frost on the ground. It's great for regulating the temperature, well pretty much the same as a home quilt.
There wasn't much choice in the UK when I bought mine, so I imported from the US, I'd have no hesitation recommending them, but couldn't make any comparison with what's now available.
http://www.jacksrbetter.com/quilts/
tatanab

Post by tatanab »

Yes, I use a Thermarest quilt https://www.ultralightoutdoorgear.co.uk ... nket-p9726