Cooking on small gas camp stoves

Specifically for cycle touring subjects & questions
st599_uk

Cooking on small gas camp stoves

Post by st599_uk »

I finally got out on a camping trip a couple of weeks ago. I've a lot of experience camping (250 + nights as a kid/teenager all over Europe and some bits of Africa), but relatively little of using small gas stoves. I always cooked on an open fire or used a hexy stove to cook bacon/sausages.

I tried to make some healthy stuff, a packet of pre-made lentil dahl and porridge. Both welded them selves to the bottom within 20 secs and the porridge was inedible.

I suppose I could put the packet in a water and boil the water to heat the pre-made food and put the poriidge and milk in a freezer bag and do the same. Does that work?

Or I could put the porridge and in a food flask, add boiling milk (or add milk powder and boiling water), then leave for half an hour before eating whilst I break camp.

How do others do it? Does anyone have any favourite recipes?
A novice learning...
“the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible.”
rotavator

Re: Cooking on small gas camp stoves

Post by rotavator »

The easy way to make porridge that does not burn onto the pan is to put the oats in a bowl, mix in dried fruit and/or dried milk if you like, boil the water separately then pour the water onto the oats mixture, leave it to "cook" and cool for a few minutes then eat it. I have a plastic bowl with a handle that works perfectly but there are plenty of options available including silicone ones that can be packed flat.
LinusR

Post by LinusR »