How dry are your stuff sacs?

Specifically for cycle touring subjects & questions
mattheus

How dry are your stuff sacs?

Post by mattheus »

Not sure how to title this question, so I'll just ramble on regardless ...

Is there an accepted difference between "stuff sacs" and "dry bags"? I have some podsac bags which are certainly a water-resistant material - I guess they have to be, as any compression item needs to be airtight!- but I think they leak very slowly at the seams if carried exposed to (proper) rain.
(My big one does tend to puff-up a little as well, which would be consistent with non-sealed seams.)

I am pretty new to this technology, so open to general advice. I'm probably not even using the right terms!

Thanks.

(EDIT: oh, and should I expect the stuff-sacs like the one my Sea-to-Summit down quilt comes in to be watertight??)
Bmblbzzz

Re: How dry are your stuff sacs?

Post by Bmblbzzz »

I can't comment on the Podsacs or Sea to Summit stuff sacks specifically, but yes, there is a difference between stuff sacks and dry bags. A standard stuff sack is not waterproof. Not all stuff sacks are airtight either – I guess that's the difference between a stuff sack and a compression bag.

Not all dry bags are equally made, either. I have an Exped bag which has holes worn in it (but still waterproof material) whereas my Sea to Summit dry bag seems tougher material. Some of that might just be down to luck or unequal usage, of course.
NATURAL ANKLING

Post by NATURAL ANKLING »

Hi,
I used a dry bag for a week and the material is already creased which looks like delamination.
I don't think that any bag will be 100% and it of course prudent to wrap contents in plastic bag just in case.
Stuff bags can be made of any material including mesh, with a secure closer normally a cord with a cord lock, and if you are lucky a internal flap to stop contents flowing out.