Tent cleaning and winter storage

Specifically for cycle touring subjects & questions
matt2matt2002

Tent cleaning and winter storage

Post by matt2matt2002 »

I used my Hubba Hubba NX a dozen or so times this year. Kept it quite clean, always used a ground sheet and always dried out after wet weather.
I bought it in the summer so have not had to store it over a winter.

Any thoughts and tips on a final winter clean and storage?

And thoughts on using a washing machine?

Many thanks folks.
2017 Ethiopia.5 weeks.
2018 Marrakech 2 weeks.
2023 Thailand 8 weeks.
Always on a Thorn Raven/Rohloff hub.
Psamathe

Re: Tent cleaning and winter storage

Post by Psamathe »

I'm no expert (I'm sure others will be along who are) but I'd not put any of my tents in a washing machine.

I was wondering about cleaning my Hilleberg and retailer said to use a special tent cleaner but Hilleberg said warm water and a sponge only.

Ian
Jdsk

Post by Jdsk »

I don't wash ours except for areas with bird droppings etc.

But that airing and drying is crucial.

Jonathan
PH

Post by PH »

Terra Nova recommend using a specific tent cleaner or pure soap and to do it in the bath and not use a washing machine. I cleaned my flysheet like that once in ten years with liquid soap after a few weeks costal camping, other times I've just sponged it off with warm water. I have also wiped and re-proofed a couple of times and I do frequently lube the zips. I can't remember ever washing the inner, other than wiping the muck off the groundsheet. I also store mine in a big box rather than tightly rolled, that probably isn't necessary if you're sure it's completely dry, but I have the space and it can't do any harm.
PaulaT

Post by PaulaT »