Trangia - fuel question

Specifically for cycle touring subjects & questions
glucas

Trangia - fuel question

Post by glucas »

Hi,

I am a complete beginner to bike camping. I have ordered a Trangia 27-5 ul with gas burner.

What is the best fuel to take in terms of bike touring? A trangia fuel bottle or gas cartridge? And how long does it last?

Are there any advantages/disadvantages to taking either? General availability? Weight etc?

Would appreciate any response. Thank You

Graham
Last edited by glucas on 27 Apr 2021, 2:13pm, edited 2 times in total.
KTHSullivan

Re: Trangia - fuel question

Post by KTHSullivan »

Several answers:

Meths burners have no moving parts as a consequence not a lot to go wrong.
Meths burners are quiet.
Meths tends to cover the pans with soot, unless careful.
Meths burners do not lend themselves to fine cooking control (simmering)
I am able to boil 500ml of water with 30ml of meths. (Trangia 27)
Due to energy density (calorific value) Meths burners can be (appear) slow.

Gas has a higher energy density as a consequence it takes less of it to heat a given amount of water.
Screw on gas cartridges may be less readily available dependent where one is in the world, although it is possible to get convertors for the Camping Gaz puncture type cartridges.
Gas can loose performance dependent upon ambient temperature and gas blend.
Gas does not generate soot (unless something is seriously adrift).
Performance of gas cartridges can taper off if they are near empty.
In heavy weather a gas flame will blow out before a Meths one.

Personally I prefer Meths. First thing out of the pannier/backpack at camp is the stove, brew on, then the tent etc goes up.

Obviously other preferences are available.
Just remember, when you’re over the hill, you begin to pick up speed. :lol:
glucas

Post by glucas »

Thanks KTHSullivan.