Just starting out

Specifically for cycle touring subjects & questions
don1

Just starting out

Postby don1 » 18 Jan 2015, 7:45pm

Hi all.
I'm just getting into cycle touring/camping. I've car camped with the family in the past so all my existing kit has tended to be in the 'weight no object' category , so cooking equipment has just been typical kitchen stuff brought along from home.

Any hints and tips about cooking kit would be appreciated to help me build up my gear.
I think I'm going to go down the trangia type stove route, but still maybe thinking about the little gas canister burners.

When it comes to a pot/mug for cooking in, what are the benefits of aluminium vs titanium, excluding cost & weight - I was thinking from a cooking/cleaning perspective.

Heltor Chasca

Just starting out

Postby Heltor Chasca » 18 Jan 2015, 8:31pm

I'm a Trangia fan. Quieter and simpler than my little Primus. Almost nothing to go wrong except being able to see the meths flame in bright sunlight. Never owned any titanium so can't comment. A little extra weight on a bike doesn't seem to matter that much. I even carry around my favourite ceramic mug which weighs a ton in comparison to titanium

andrew_s

Re: Just starting out

Postby andrew_s » 18 Jan 2015, 10:56pm

Titanium pots are tougher than aluminium, more dent resistant, and if you get stuff burnt on, you can just attack with a scraper and green meanie without damaging the pan. If you take a scourer to aluminium, it scratches up horribly, which just encourages stuff to stick, and carries tastes over into subsequent use more easily. On the other hand, aluminium conducts heat better, so you are less likely to burn food in the first place. Hard anodized aluminium pans are a good compromise.
Weight-wise, tnere's not much in it.