Lizzie Reather has resign from CTC Council with immediate ef

Philip Benstead

Lizzie Reather has resign from CTC Council with immediate ef

Postby Philip Benstead » 30 Mar 2016, 7:37pm

http://www.ctc.org.uk/about-ctc/ctc-nat ... ie-reather

Lizzie Reather has resign from CTC Council with immediate effect today.

Lizzie Reather, CTC Councillor for Yorkshire & the Humber

Lizzie Reather is the CTC Councillor for Yorkshire and the Humber and Chair of Leeds Cycling Campaign

Lizzie Reather is the CTC Councillor for Yorkshire and the Humber, now living in Scotland and also acting as a link between National Council and Scotland.
Having cycled as a child and student, I began cycling to work and for transport in Leeds in 2009. I quickly became disappointed at the conditions for cycling and joined CTC and my local campaign group. Five years later I was Chair of Leeds Cycling Campaign, a role that allowed me to build my skills in campaigning and representing cycling, and to experience the delights of recreational cycling.

Over the last few years I have prepared submissions to a local public inquiry; corresponded and met with local and national politicians and transport officers; and chaired and attended numerous meetings. I have also led workshops and given presentations at national cycling events and put forward the case for cycling on local and national television, getting very positive feedback from other campaigners. I've enjoyed long day rides, ladies-only leisure pootles, audax events, cycle touring in the Netherlands, mountain bike trails in Wales, mass participation closed-road rides, and cycling home, uphill, into a headwind, with my weekly shop!