Censorship and the CTC

skidd

Censorship and the CTC

Post by skidd »

Dear CTC,

I have devoted a large portion of my life to garnering experience, gaining qualification and actively advocating social welfare (I have a degree in Geography and Transport planning and won the Grebenik prize for writing).

I sincerely believe that the greatest benefits for the least costs can be achieved in transport. Nothing has swayed me from the belief that cycling is the jewel in the crown of improving society, It is simple maths. The greatest costs imposed upon society are imposed by private motor use (10% of European GDP) and the most efficient alternative is cycling, of which, in this country, you are overtly the most powerful lobby. You are uniquely blessed, in that of all philanthropic endeavours, promotion of cycling is the pinnacle. If one's objective was to make the world a better place and one were offered the raft of all solutions incorporating medical, religious, physical, economic, emotional and all other institutions in all their forms, cycling comes out top. It might not be the sexiest (far from it, it suffers public ridicule), I am sure that adopting snow leopards for children with cancer fighting with our boys in Iraq might more readily tug at the heart strings, but it is the logical choice as the first stop on the path to being 'good'.

All other things being equal, if we have perfect information, cycling would be promoted to a far far greater degree and society would gain. Lobbying for cycling because one likes cycling is fine, but in that context it is merely an interest group which attempts to bang its particular drum louder than other self-serving parties. Promoting general welfare, and embracing the inescapable conclusion that cycling is the optimal strategy for attaining it, is an incredibly compelling argument in its favour.