Post ride fatigue

willdubery

Post ride fatigue

Post by willdubery »

I'd like some advice from you guys if possible. I'm a bit of a newbie to cycling. Having been commuting to and from work 6 miles each way for about a year and I am just starting to venture in to longer riding. Have never been the fittest person despite doing lots and lots of sports. Regular build, 84kg and 6 ft 2.

Last week I did a 40 mile cycle. I do around 1 of these a week whilst also cycling to and from work every day. I roughly do around 100 miles a week. I tried to go out the next day for a warm down ride and couldn't even pedal. Aware I may be pushing over training I didn't cycle for about 5 days. Have just tried to go out again today and can still barely move my legs. Managed about 10km. Nothing.

So pretty sure those are signs of over training but would like a second opinion anyway.

My questions are these: if I am over training on such small workloads how can I ever improve? How much longer do I need to leave before I can get back on the bike again? Are there other ways to speed up recovery other than resting?
Slick

Re: Post ride fatigue

Post by Slick »

I got some good advice here.

viewtopic.php?f=49&t=106819

As usual, there was more than one factor involved, and I'm really starting to reap the benefits now. I may be wrong, but I also feel that it may be darkest before the dawn.
willdubery

Post by willdubery »

Thank you Slick. Feel it is probably low blood sugar and not eating enough. I'm trying to lose weight at the same time so I'm probably just not eating enough at all. I hope its that anyway. I've never had a problem with this before.

May just leave it for another week and see how I feel.
Slick

Post by Slick »