Getting past the aches and pains?

Gingertimmins

Getting past the aches and pains?

Post by Gingertimmins »

Hi all, I'm wondering if anyone has any advice on how to stop my legs from aching so much.
I commute daily- about 8 miles each way- and I find by weds/thurs my legs ache like crazy. I'm a chef so being on my feet all day probably doesn't help.
I rode a fixie for 5 years in flat london and was only doing about 8 miles a day. I now live in pretty hilly bristol so about 8 weeks ago I bought a road bike. I'm finding it much easier than in the fixie but I just can't seem to shake the aches.
Rather than me getting used to it I seem to be increasing in speed and pushing harder week after week. Do you think it's a case of me having to reach my peak fitness as I've only been at this for 8 weeks and then I will plateau and hopefully stop aching?
I eat well enough- the cuisine at my work is natural and healthy and I eat for free so I don't think I'm under nourished.
It's probably worth mentioning that I haven't had a bike fit on this bike but I have on previous bikes and using that knowledge plus a lot of reading I have, through trial and error got the fit on my bike so that I'm very comfortable for a couple of hours.

Thanks for the help!

I'm a trendy consumer. Just look at my wobbly bog brush using hovercraft full of eels
Si

Re: Getting past the aches and pains?

Post by Si »

Rather than me getting used to it I seem to be increasing in speed and pushing harder week after week.

I think that might be part of it! Try riding slower and not taking so much out of yourself, then when you feel less aching you can increase the intensity again but emember to keep having recovery periods where you go easier. And perhaps use lower gears on the hills if you are monstering up them in a high gear (like you might have on the fixie).
Vorpal

Post by Vorpal »

A couple of things...