how do I train for a super-steep hill ?

Stroud24

how do I train for a super-steep hill ?

Post by Stroud24 »

Hi

I've got a 100km charity ride coming up, and I'd like to do it in a decent time. I'm a relative amateur, but have been riding a few times a week (for various events etc) since February, and the distance isn't a concern, and generally, I've been happy with how my speed has increased.

However, there's a hill on the route with a 15% gradient, which is also quite long, and I just can't do it. My legs are fine, but my lungs and heart just don't seem up to the challenge.

Does anyone know of an effective exercise or routine to improve these things? It's not practical to practice on the hill itself, as it's a long way from home, and there's nothing like it close. Frequent regular hills and distance and speed practice obviously isn't helping enough.

Just after some hints and tips please.

Thanks
cyclop

Re: Super steep hill

Post by cyclop »

What is your lowest gear? Just give the number of teeth on your small front chainring and also the large rear sprocket.
Cyril Haearn

Re: how do I train for a super-steep hill ?

Post by Cyril Haearn »

Just use a low gear and ride up slowly
You could even hop off and walk, no shame in that, I do it sometimes
May one ask which hill it is exactly?
Entertainer, juvenile, curmudgeon, PoB, 30120
Cycling-of course, but it is far better on a Gillott
We love safety cameras, we hate bullies
mjr

Post by mjr »

Find the steepest local hill you can. If Stroud24 means you're near Stroud, there are some corkers like Maiden Hill, Haresfield Beacon and Scottsquar Hill and that's just one lump.
MJR, mostly pedalling 3-speed roadsters. KL+West Norfolk BUG incl social easy rides http://www.klwnbug.co.uk
All the above is CC-By-SA and no other implied copyright license to Cycle magazine.
Paulatic

Post by Paulatic »