Just not improving?

MegGoesRiding

Just not improving?

Postby MegGoesRiding » 5 May 2020, 4:39pm

Hi there,

I am new here so I apologise in advance if this is in the wrong forum.

So just a bit of background information I am a 25 year old female with a fairly decent bike (cannondale synapse which was about £1000 when I first bought it) and I use it to commute to work 3 times a week (Monday, Wednesday and Friday) which is a 5mile ride each way. I also use it on a weekend for 1 longer ride a week, often about 20-30 miles.

I am finding however that my speed is just not improving and I am stuck at about 10 miles per/hr which I can gather is actually pretty slow, concidering I have been doing this for around 6 months now. I just don't seem to be getting any better. I find myself really struggling up most inclines, my legs just don't feel strong enough and my cardiovascular fitness just seems a bit rubbish. I especially struggle on my commutes on a specific incline on the way to work and it just doesnt seem to be improving/ getting any easier.

Is there anything I can do to help? I know recovery is a very important part of training but I can't not cycle to work, it's my only way of getting in (I don't drive) so I feel like it could be this holding me back? Any suggestions would be welcome!

Thank you!

531colin

Re: Just not improving?

Postby 531colin » 5 May 2020, 6:25pm

First, don't worry about it. Any of it. You are out on your bike, which is a lot better than most folk.
If you are really pushing yourself then its nice to have the next day off to recover, but it was never "essential". (Back in the day, we used to do some hard rides at the weekend, and I used to cycle to work all week; like you, no alternative.) So don't worry about recovery, either.