Using a dynamo hub to charge a battery

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Stringcat

Post by Stringcat »

Hi. I've just read the recent threads about dynamo hubs and lighting. Personally, I'm leaning towards keeping my lights separate and using the hub (probably a Son28) to charge a stand-alone battery so that I have juice for iPhone, iPad, etc. So, any recommendations for:

1) How to wire the hub to other components
2) Whether the output from the hub will sufficiently charge a Lithium battery pack (e.g. enough current? Will it trickle charge at any output?)
3) Any other tips from anyone using a setup like this. (I'd love to get it set up properly first time.)

I've done plenty of touring but I'm a newbie with this sort of kit.

Thanks. Andrew.
meic

Re: Using a dynamo hub to charge a battery

Post by meic »

[XAP]Bob on this forum has done something along these lines.
I am not quite sure what though, I just remember talk of having to have something left on or an overvoltage protector or the electronics of various things could be overloaded.
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=94376&p=869439&hilit=dynamo+battery#p869439
Yma o Hyd
Heltor Chasca

Post by Heltor Chasca »

Why not integrate? I'm very happy with my B&M which has a USB port. While you are riding in the day, it's charging up your kit.
Stringcat

Post by Stringcat »

Heltor Chasca wrote:Why not integrate? I'm very happy with my B&M which has a USB port. While you are riding in the day, it's charging up your kit.

I meant keep the lights as battery-operated LEDs, in case I didn't make sense! So it would just be the electrics for charging during the day.
Heltor Chasca

Post by Heltor Chasca »

Ok. Sure. [emoji106] The stem-cap ones look nifty and the tidy routing of cables is attractive, but I did hear a couple of years ago there were issues. Hopefully Son have resolved those. Wonder if there are reviews out there yet?
andrew_s

Post by andrew_s »