External Bottom Bracket Bearings

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Mick F
Spambuster

External Bottom Bracket Bearings

Post by Mick F »

My Moulton has a Stronglight chainset and external BB and I've just spent a few minutes measuring up the sizes of them, then looked them up at SimplyBearings.
14mm wide
21.5mm inside diameter
31mm outside diameter

http://simplybearings.co.uk/shop/p18305 ... _info.html

There's nothing wrong with the existing ones. Let's get his straight. :wink:
I don't need new ones ................ yet.
Moulton has done 2,600miles from new.

From what I've read on here, I find that folk generally don't think much of external BBs. I have no real experience of them, so can't comment.
I get the impression however, that the one's that folk have a problem with, aren't double row bearings, but thin single row bearings ............. or am I wrong?

Could it be that mine will be ok for quite some years?
.................. or not?
Mick F. Cornwall
Gattonero

Re: External Bottom Bracket Bearings

Post by Gattonero »

Most of the external bearings for chainsets use single-row bearings, which are fairly resistant in terms of load. Is the contamination that kills them: larger diameter = more chances of moisture to leak in.

IIRC, that chainset fitted on Moultons does use an odd spindle, smaller than most external-cups style cranks.
Shimano, Sram, Campagnolo, etc., they all use 24 or 25mm OD axle, so you have a common #6805 (25x37x7) bearing, or a less common 2437 (24x37x7).
The #6805 are used by Campagnolo Power Torque, and the "old" Shimano HT2 cups and some FSA cranks too; altogether with the last two, some other manufacturers do use this size by adding a plastic sleeve, to reduce the ID of the bearing to 24mm. The #6805 size is widely available.