Groupset Upgrade

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Ducky

Groupset Upgrade

Post by Ducky »

I have a Cannondale CAAD 8 Tiagra 2011 9 speed and I would like to upgrade the groupset. Probably to a 105.

First question: the bottom bracket is an FSA Mega Exo BB-4000 - does this mean I can use the standard Shimano Bottom Bracket that comes with the 105 groupset? I think newer CAAD8 have a BB30 bottom bracket so I would need to get FSA chain rings too - I would rather just stick with the standard Shimano kit if possible.

Second question: given that it is currently a 9 speed, will there be any issues fitting an 10 (Tiagra) or 11 (105) speed cassette on it?

I'm a bit of a novice at this so just want to be sure it will all work!

Ta!
hamster

Re: Groupset Upgrade

Post by hamster »

11 speed requires a different hub, so you have the choice of up to 10.

Personally I would upgrade the wheels first rather than the groupset. The difference between 105 and Tiagra is a few grams - and I bet you wouldn't be able to tell the difference in the dark. If the shifting is a bit off, give it all a good clean and fit new cables and (especially) outers.
Ducky

Post by Ducky »

Thanks for the advice. I'll make sure I don't go for anything over 10 speed. I guess that makes my decision on Tiagra vs 105!

I upgraded the wheels when I got it so no need there. I need to replace chain (stretched) and cassette, and the front derailleur is slightly bent - hence why I thought I might as well upgrade the whole groupset.
TrevA

Post by TrevA »

You can still get 10 speed 105, but by restricting yourself to 10 speed you've got built in obsolescence. Nearly all new wheels, even cheap ones, come with 11 speed hubs nowadays.

I've got 10 speed Tiagra and it's not brilliant to be honest. The gears are very hard to keep well adjusted and rather clunky.
Sherwood CC and Notts CTC.
A cart horse trapped in the body of a man.
http://www.jogler2009.blogspot.com
tim_f

Post by tim_f »