1/8" chainring on Campag Record road cranks

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
pq

1/8" chainring on Campag Record road cranks

Post by pq »

The cranks on my fixed are creaking like [rude word removed] and have resisted all attempts to solve the problem. I've been riding the cranks (Record Pista) since 1982 (and the Royce bb for more than 20 years) so I can't really complain.

I now have a redundant pair of 2000 Record road cranks which don't creak, so an obvious solution is to retire my existing cranks/bb and use those instead, but I'll need to get a chainring. The cranks use the crank arm itself as one of the anchor points for the chainrings, which means I need a chainring to suit - one of the holes is countersunk on the other side and the width needs to be right or the ring won't run true. This would be easily done if I just bought a compatible road chainring, but I'd rather use 1/8". Has anyone done this and knows of a chainring which will do the job? Needs to be 44T by the way.

Thanks.
One link to your website is enough. G
pq

Re: 1/8" chainring on Campag Record road cranks

Post by pq »

Blimey, I didn't think that was rude enough to get censored...
Mick F
Spambuster

Post by Mick F »

Auto editing. :lol:

Why are your cranks creaking?
Is it that the square tapers are worn?

I think I've read on here somewhere that you can cure this. Maybe someone can come up with the method.

Failing that, I think you'd be better off with new Pista cranks as I don't think you can get one-eighth rings for a Record chainset.
Mick F. Cornwall
pq

Post by pq »

I don't know. I've tried all the common solutions and none have worked, so probably dodgy tapers. For the last few years I've just poured a bucket of water over it before riding which sorts it for a few hours.