Non-standard spoke issues and purchase

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Geoff.D

Non-standard spoke issues and purchase

Post by Geoff.D »

I'm in the middle of adding a motor to my front wheel. The motor came with a 26" rim, but I want to match it with 700c. So, I stripped out the spokes, and am about to order a new set. But, I've never built a wheel before, so (at the moment) all my knowledge is through what I read (mostly on these forums, but elsewhere, too).

The stripped out spokes appear to be 2.3mm (13 gauge), but the rim is drilled for 2.0mm (14 gauge). I have three questions -

1. I read that many front electric hubs use a single butted 13/14 gauge spoke, and this is the optimal choice for the strength/flexibility relationship. Any comments on this?
2. I notice that the elbow length on my stripped out spoke is greater than the elbow length on some old spokes I have knocking around (14 gauge, I think). But, I've practised using 3 of the on-line spoke length calculators (discussed by Brucey in December) and they make no mention of this measurement. I realise it isn't a variable in the spoke length calculation, but I do need to get it right when I order. How do I specify this length?
3. Do you have any recommendations as to suppliers, bearing in mind that I'm looking for (possibly) non-standard spokes with 13/14 single butted and a longer elbow?

I posted this initially in the Electric Bike forum, but it's a technical question that bridges both.
Many thanks, in anticipation.
Geoff
Brucey

Re: Non-standard spoke issues and purchase

Post by Brucey »

the J-bend length is most certainly a variable to be concerned with but it usually isn't specified. I would suggest that the fit of the spokes in the hub is improved using spoke washers where necessary.

You can have a choice of using

- cut down and rethreaded 13/14g single butted spokes, or
- PG 13G spokes with slim-bodied converter nipples in a rim drilled for 14g or