Rear dynamo light stopped working

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
dondelion

Rear dynamo light stopped working

Post by dondelion »

Hello,

I have a Son Edelux front light connected to an SP Dynamo and I have a rear B&M Secula Plus light connected to the front light. I've been running this setup for about 6 months but the rear light recently suddenly stopped working although the front light still works.

I swapped the rear light cable over but that made no difference. I went to Maplin where they kindly checked the rear light cable with a multimeter and all appeared in order. They also connected the rear light cable to the front light and there was power showing on the multimeter. They connected the multimeter to both terminals of the rear light and the circuit was continuous.

Could it be the rear light bulb has blown or would that have prevented a signal registering on the multimeter? What would have made it blow suddenly as I wasn't descending at high speed? Is it possible to replace the bulb? Any other ideas?

Apologies for my lack of electrical knowledge. I have checked with a few local bike shops and no-one in any of them has thus far has been able to offer any assistance on what might have gone wrong (or any assistance at all really).

Thanks in advance.
NUKe

Re: Rear dynamo light stopped working

Post by NUKe »

firstly this is LED rather than bulb, So you cant just check the circuit with a multimeter, there is also a capacitor to store power and complicate things further. it is possible something has broken inside, but your light is under warranty. So contact your dealer and get it replaced.
NUKe

Post by [XAP]Bob »

Yep - easy replacement there.

It's worth checking the connections at the rear lamp, but it sounds like you've already done that...
I had a secula battery lamp that was terrible, apart from the batteries lasting less than 20 hours the internals were also horribly corroded by that time.