Is this sprocket worn?

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Vetus Ossa

Is this sprocket worn?

Post by Vetus Ossa »

Following up on my previous question… viewtopic.php?f=5&t=121226
I now have a new chain, as yet unfitted as I have only just got around to removing the drive sprocket bash guard, and would like to know if anyone thinks this is worn and needs replacing, to be honest it looks fine to me but I am not an expert.
Remember it has covered nearly 1400 miles to date.

Beauty will save the world.
Username

Re: Is this sprocket worn?

Post by Username »

Looks fine to me. 1400 miles is nowt, sprockets should last much longer. 1500 miles is what I'd expect from a chain minimum. And sprockets tend to last 2 or more chains. (3 so far on my bikes without issue). Just make sure you renew the chain before it wears out too much. You can get a chain checker which indicates when a chain should be replaced.
Brucey

Post by Brucey »

It looks slightly worn to me; not too bad but it may run a bit rough if a new chain is fitted on it.

cheers
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Brucey~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
robgul

Post by robgul »

The stuff I see at the shop about electric bikes does suggest that 1,500 miles is about the life of the chain - it may be worth looking at some of the chains that are designed (or at least marketed) as specific for ebikes with central motors and very small motor sprockets [IIRC KMC is one brand with ebike chains]

Rob
E2E http://www.cycle-endtoend.org.uk
HoECC http://www.heartofenglandcyclingclub.org.uk
Cytech accredited mechanic . . . and woodworker
Mike Sales

Post by Mike Sales »

I look at the symmetry of the two sides of the teeth to assess wear.
It's the same the whole world over
It's the poor what gets the blame
It's the rich what gets the pleasure
Isn't it a blooming shame?
Vetus Ossa

Post by Vetus Ossa »